June’s Allure Beauty Box

Here it’s the end of the month already and I haven’t reviewed Allure’s Beauty Box for June.

I think I waited so long because it was kind of a disappointment.

The theme was Glow Getters – and here’s what I got:

Deco Miami Nail Lacquer in Feeling Fuego
John Frieda Frizz Ease Keraflex Hairspray
Yves Saint Laurent Touch Eclat Blur Primer
Juice Beauty Stem Cellular Anti-Wrinkle Booster Serum
St. Tropez Self Tan Express Bronzing Face Sheet Mask
Tata Harper Resurfacing Mask

Here’s the detail for each:

Deco Miami Nail Lacquer 

decomiamiThis is a  bright coral nail polish. It appears to be a full-sized product (although the bottle is tiny and the print on the label is even tinier. But assuming it’s full-sized, it has a retail value of $12.50. This is not a color I like, although I’ve tried it on my toes and it’s not bad. However, I find nail polish unexciting. I want to discover new products in a beauty box. I can buy nail polish in a zillion colors anywhere. Would I ever order it online? No. This just has no value to me.

John Frieda Frizz Ease Keraflex Hairspray

frizzease

Likewise, John Frieda hairspray didn’t exactly make me jump up and down. I suppose this sample might be useful for traveling – except that I almost never use hairspray. The sample is worth $1.54. But considering I will probably not use this, it also has no value to me.  But this might be a nice product for the box I am building for the women’s shelter… so I’ll give it a $1.00 value.

Yves Saint Laurent Touch Eclat Blur Primer

yslprimer

I was pretty excited to see this in my box. Yves Saint Laurent has a wonderful reputation in makeup and skincare – especially their Touch Eclat line. This is a 1/3 size sample. It’s a thick liquid with gold flecks. It’s applied nicely – although I didn’t see the glow the gold flecks are supposed to provide. Unfortunately, I have worn this twice now, and although my makeup looked very nice at first, this primer did nothing to make my makeup last. Just today, I put on my makeup at 1PM to go out for a few hours. Then a bit later – at 5PM, I was going out again, and found that I needed to touch up my foundation and blush – because it had all but disappeared. The sample has a retail value of $17.16 ($52 an ounce) – and I may use it once in a while, but I doubt it, since I have primers that work much better. I am sorry to say that this has no value to me.

Juice Beauty Stem Cellular Anti-Wrinkle Booster Serum
juicebeauty

This seems like a fairly good serum. It feels nice on and absorbs quickly. It has a retail value of $20.28 (full size goes for $78 for one ounce).  As much as I do like it and will use it, I don’t think it will take the place of my favorite serum, Origins Perfect World, which has a beautiful texture and lovely orange and bergamot fragrance – and costs $44 an ounce. But I will use this occasionally, so I would value it at the value of my Origins serum, so $11.44 for the .26 ounces.

St. Tropez Self Tan Express Bronzing Face Sheet Mask
sttropeztanner

This is a weird-looking (like a horror movie hockey mask) sheet permeated with self-tanner.  But I don’t self-tan my face. I like having a peaches-and-cream complexion. It goes for $9, but it has no value to me. (And not really useful at the homeless shelter either.)

Tata Harper Resurfacing Mask

tataharper

This is the only product that I was really happy with. I’ve heard lots of good things lately about the Tata Harper brand. And this is a pretty good mask. The photo above make it looks like it is a heavy clay color, but it is really a pale peach colored gel that dries clear on my skin. This is a bit silly, but I like that I don’t look freaky when I have this on my face. I live on a secluded country road, but OMG, just let me put on a bright green face mask and the doorbell is guaranteed to ring. Besides being normal-looking, the mask did a nice job too. It left my skin feeling deep-cleaned and refreshed. The full size retails at $58 – so I’m not sure at this point I would spring for it, considering there are lots of good masks that are less expensive. But I will use this for sure, and this .25 ounce jar is worth $14.50.

So all in all, I received one product (the mask) that I really like, and one (the serum) that is okay. The total value of the box for me was $26.94. And the monthly fee was $15.00. So, I guess I got my money’s worth, but I can’t help feeling disappointed by this month’s box.

 

4 thoughts on “June’s Allure Beauty Box

    • I read your 15 acts of self-love post when you first published it, and loved it.
      As to the polish, I liked it well enough on my toes.But for my hands…well, I really don’t have nice nails, so I don’t like to draw attention to them with bright polish. I will say that it seems long-lasting with a single coat.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

